Nominees announced and tickets available for 2012 Civic Recognition Awards

Burlington, Ont., April 16, 2012 – Join Burlington’s finest civic-minded volunteers, advocates and community leaders on Thursday, May 10 at 6:30 p.m. at the Burlington Convention Centre  for the 2012 Civic Recognition Awards, a celebratory evening event in honour of Burlington’s most outstanding citizens.

Tickets to this event are $35 per person or a table of 10 for $280, which includes a light buffet and cocktail reception. Tickets are available from the clerks department at City Hall, 426 Brant St. or by contacting Lisa Palermo at 905-335-7600, ext. 7458 or

All award winners will be announced at the event. This year’s award nominees are:

Award Category Nominees
Citizen of the Year (Award sponsored by Burlington Lions Clubs and Rotary Clubs of Burlington): Recognizes an individual who has provided volunteer service to the community over the past calendar year and in previous years. Marilyn Heintz
Wendy Hagar
Bev Jacobs
Crystal McNerney
Senior Person of the Year (Award sponsored by Heritage Place Retirement Community): A Burlington resident, 60 years or older, who has made a significant community contribution. Donald Jervis
Mary Plows
Jim Frizzle
Dr. Salem Rao
Junior Person of the Year (Award sponsored by B’Nai Brith): Recognizes a secondary school student under 18 years of age who has made a significant contribution in their community. Amy Stringer
Dan Taylor
Bo Chen Han
Arts Person of the Year (Award sponsored by The K.W. Irmisch Arts Award):
A resident who contributed to the Burlington arts community— either professionally or as an amateur artist—a patron or a sponsor in any discipline of the visual or performing arts.
Myles Erlick
Trevor Copp
Environmental Award (Award sponsored by Newalta):
 A group or individual who has worked to improve and protect Burlington’s environment.
Michelle Bennett
Barbara Frensch
Susan Fraser
Community Service Award (Award sponsored by Cogeco Cable Inc.):
A resident who volunteers his or her time and talent in the areas of public relations; marketing; communications; or special events, promoting Burlington as a community.
Sam Kawazoye


















- 30 -

Media Contact:
Andrea Holland
Committee Clerk
Tel. 905-335-7600, ext. 7413

Communications Contact:
Kim Sopko
Communications Advisor
Tel. 905-335-7600, ext. 7879

Webminder: Media Releases - Enter your email below:

[Top] [Printer-Friendly Page]